There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Wednesday 26 August 2020

Jazz Today Online - Summer 2020

Listen using the widget on the left....or HERE.

Mihaly Borbely Quartet: Our Favorite Things from Grenadilla (BMC). Mihaly Borbely, reeds, flute; Aron Talas, piano; Balazs Horvath, bass; Hunor G Szabo, drums.

Jorge Roeder: Chabuca Limena from El Suelo Mio (self-released). Jorge Roeder, bass.

Potsa Lotsa XL: Max Bialystock from Silk Songs for Space Dogs (Leo). Silke Eberhard, Jurgen Kupke, Patrick Braun, reeds; Nikolaus Neuser, trumpet; Gerhard Gschlossl, trombone; Johannes Fink, cello; Taiko Saito, vibraphone; Antonis Anissegos, piano; Igor Spallati, bass; Kay Lubke, drums.

Linley Hamilton Quintet: Sure Would Baby from For the Record (Teddy D). Derek O’Connor, saxophone; Linley Hamilton, trumpet; Cian Boylan, keyboards; Mark Egan, bass; Adam Nussbaum, drums.

Andrea Grossi Blend Orchestra: Zephiro from Four Winds (We Insist). Rebecca Roda, Giancarlo Locatelli, Gabriele Fava, Manuel Caliumi, Massimiliano Milesi, reeds; Caterina Biagiarelli, flute; Andrea Baronchelli, trombone; Paolo Malacarne, trumpet; Michele Bonifati, guitar; Simone Quatrana, piano; Andrea Grossi, bass; Filippo Sala, drums.

Andrea Grossi Blend Orchestra: Xanthos from Four Winds (We Insist). As above.

Daniel Bingert: Cinco de Mayo from Berit in Space (Moserobie). Daniel Bingert, composer, arranger, conductor; Per Texas Johansson, Jonas Kullhammar, reeds; Karl Olandersson, trumpet; Charlie Malmberg, piano; Torbjörn Zetterberg, bass; Moussa Fadera, drums.

Xavier Pamplona Septet: Jo-jo Jive from Play The (Casco). Ziv Taubenfeld, Michael Moore, Giuseppe Doronzo, reeds; Alistair Payne, trumpet; Marta Warelis, piano; Raoul van der Weide, bass; George Hadow, drums.

Sebastian Gramss’ Fossile 3: Tame from 16 Tracks to Kill Time (Jazzwerkstatt). Rudi Mahall, clarinet; Sebastian Gramss, bass; Etienne Nillesen, drums.

Juan Vinuesa Jazz Quartet: Red Line Ballad from Blue Shots from Chicago (No Business). Juan F.G. Vinuesa, saxophone; Josh Berman, cornet; Jason Roebke, bass; Mikel Patrick Avery, drums.

Misha Mullov-Abbado: The Infamous Grouse from Dream Circus (Edition). Matthew Herd, Sam Rapley, saxophones; James Davison, trumpet; Liam Dunachie, keyboards; Misha Mullov-Abbado, bass; Scott Chapman, drums.

Jorge Roeder: El Suelo Mio from El Suelo Mio (self-released). Jorge Roeder, bass.

Pauli Lyytinen’s Magnetia Orkesteri: Teknojazz from Hypnosis (Eclipse). Pauli Lyytinen, reeds; Verneri Pohjola, trumpet; Eero Tikkanen, bass; Mika Kallio, drums.

Sunday 23 August 2020

Playlist - Aug 23rd 2020

Filipe Duarte: Janeiro from Room in the Middle (Shoebill Music)
Manuele Montanari: Blues for Gassman from Movie Medley (Dodicilune)
Kullhammar / Heikinheimo / Meaas Svendsen / Aaltonen: Reflections from The Father, The Sons and The Junnu (Moserobie)
Romano Pratesi: St. Jean from Frizione (DasKapital)
Thumbscrew: Composition No. 79 from The Anthony Braxton Project (Cuneiform)
Martin Wind, Philip Catherine & Ack Van Rooyen: Canter from White Noise (Laika)
Dave Glasser: Dilemonk from Hypocrisy Democracy (HereTiz Music)
3’AIN: Kraska from 3’AIN (Choux De Bruxelles)
Viktor Skokic Sextett Jazz from Basement Music (Jazzland)
Ran Blake & Frank Carlberg: Dr Mabuse from Gray Moon (Red Piano)
Ran Blake & Frank Carlberg: Round Midnight from Gray Moon (Red Piano)
James Copus: Straight Ahead from Dusk (Ubuntu Music)
Thumbscrew: Composition No. 157 from The Anthony Braxton Project (Cuneiform)
Matt Moran Trio: Chord Conversation from Return Trip (Diskonife)
Ainon: Obscure Dreams from Drought (WeJazz)
Chad Taylor Trio: The Shepherd from The Daily Biological (Cuneiform)
Filipe Duarte: Cancao para Guitarra e Contrabaixo from Room in the Middle (Shoebill Music)
Joe Fiedler’s Big Sackbut: Tonal Proportions from Live in Graz (Multiphonics Music)
Romano Pratesi: Spazio Aperto from Frizione (Das Kapital)

Sunday 9 August 2020

Playlist - Aug 9th 2020

Convergence: Fast Lane from Convergence (self-released)
Dave Milligan: Parcel of Rogues from Momento (self-released)
Clover: Ou Sont les Oiseaux from Vert Emeraude (Yolk)
Dylan Jack Quartet: The Twelve Foot Man Part 1 from The Tale of the Twelve Foot Man (Creative Nation Music)
Gregg August: Sherbet from Dialogues on Race Vol 1 (Iacuessa)
John Scofield, Bill Stewart & Steve Swallow: Hullo Bolinas from Swallow Tales (ECM)
Humair / Blaser / Kanzig: Where Did You Sleep Last Night? from 1291 (Outnote)
Quinsin Nachoff: Violin Concerto I  from Pivotal Arc (Whirlwind)
Dave Milligan: Going Nowhere from Momento (self-released)
Danilo Gallo Dark Dry Tears: The Tree and the Water from Hide, Show Yourself! (Parco Della Musica)
Matt Ulery: Clown Drum from Pollinator (Woolgathering)
Ant Law: Our Church from The Sleeper Wakes (Edition)
Ant Law: Harvest from The Sleeper Wakes (Edition)
Humair / Blaser / Kanzig: Belafonte from 1291 (Outnote)
Andrea Keller Five Below: Suicidal Snails from Life is Brut[if]al (self-released)
New Bone: Nanga Parbat from Longing (CM Records)