There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Sunday 24 June 2018

Playlist - June 24th 2018

Mario Rom’s Interzone: Freedom of Thought from Truth is Simple to Consume (Traumton)
Peggy Lee: Incantation from Echo Painting (Songlines)
Peggy Lee: Out on a Limb from Echo Painting (Songlines)
Andy Manndorff: While You Were Out from Pandora (Cracked Anegg)
Hayden Powell: Har Borjar Regnbagen from Six Commissions (Periskop)
Jure Pukl: Doves from Doubtless (Whirlwind)
Havard Wiik Trio: Ceci N’est Pas une Valse from This is Not a Waltz (Moserobie)
Alban Darche & L’Orphicube: Tango Vif from Atomic Flonflons (Yolk)
Tim Garland: The Snows from Weather Walker (Edition)
Agnas Bros.: 9 from Lycka Till Med Musicken (self-released)
Thumbscrew: Unconditional from Ours (Cuneiform)
Hayden Powell: Junior Days from Six Commissions (Periskop)
Tim Garland: Angry Sun from Weather Walker (Edition)
Andy Manndorff: Tailing the Object of Special Preference from Pandora (Cracked Anegg)
Liran Donin’s 1000 Boats: Free from 8 Songs (Cavalo)
Mark Lotz & Alan Purves: Endurance from Food Foragers (Unit)
Dominik Mahnig, Dieter Mandersheid, Sebastian Sternal & Claudius Valk: Pop from Pop (Jazzhausmusik)
Jure Pukl: Elsewhere from Doubtless (Whirlwind)

(Intro / Outro - Stephane Huchard: Jakawa Jungle Spoon from Toutakoustics (Blue Note Fr)

Sunday 10 June 2018

Playlist - June 10th 2018

Sebastien Texier & Christophe Marguet 4tet: Travellers from For Travellers Only (Cristal)
Matyas Szandai, Mathias Levy & Miklos Lukacs: Reflection on New Year’s Greeting No. 4 from Bartok Impressions (BMC)               
Yuri Honing Acoustic Quartet: Goldbrun V from Goldbrun (Challenge)                  
Kirk Knuffke & Ben Goldberg: Carbondale from Uncompahgre (Relative Pitch)
Juhani Aaltonen & Raoul Bjorkenheim: Kaleidophonic from Awakening (Eclipse)
Fusk: Pennies from The Jig is Up (WhyPlayJazz)                
Max Nagl: Don Muang from Exit in Fahrtrichtung (Rude Noises)                
Max Nagl: Ausflug from Exit in Fahrtrichtung (RudeNoises)                        
Max Nagl Ensemble: Ropellor from Live at Porgy & Bess, Vienna Vol 2 (Rude Noises)     
Trio HLK: Twilt from Standard Time (Ubuntu Music)                        
Rachel Musson & Olie Brice: Longitudinal from Tapering Arms Point into the Wind (Weekertoft)
Branco Stoysin: Above the Clouds from Above the Clouds (Sun Recordings)                       
Tino Tracanna, Massimiliano Milesi, Filipo Sala & Giulio Corini: Alfred from Double Cut (UR)    
Joonas Haavisto Trio: Moriens from Gradation (Blue Gleam)      
Improvision Quartet: Gasacki from Free-Folk-Jazz (Hevhetia)    
Kirk Knuffke & Ben Goldberg: Ouray from Uncompahgre (Relative Pitch)                            
Julian Costello Quartet: Waves from Transitions (33Records)     
Sebastien Texier & Christophe Marguet 4tet: Cinecitta from For Travellers Only (Cristal)        

Monday 4 June 2018

Jazz Today Online - Spring 2018 Playlist

Shake Stew: Dancing in the Cage of a Soul from Rise and Rise Again (Traumton).  Clemens Salesny and Johannes Schleiermacher, reeds; Mario Rom trumpet; Lukas Kranzelbinder and Manuel Mayr, basses; Niki Dolp and Mathias Koch, drums.

Airelle Besson, Edouard Ferlet & Stephane Kerecki: Es Ist Vollbracht from Aires (Alpha). Airelle Besson, trumpet; Eduoard Ferlet, piano; Stephane Kerecki, bass.

Pablo Held: Chifre from Glow II (Pirouet). Niels Klein, Philipp Gropper and Christian Weidner, reeds; Claus Stotter, trumpet; Pablo Held and Hubert Nuss, keyboards; Ronny Graupe and John Schroder, guitars; Henning Sieverts and Robert Landferman, basses; Jonas Burgwinkel, drums.

Tore Brunborg & Steinar Raknes: Feng Shui from Backcountry (Reckless). Tore Brunborg, saxophone; Steinar Raknes, bass.

Horse Orchestra: Barok, Sydeuropaeisk Begravelsesmusik, Traditioneljazz og Fri Improvisation from Four Letter Word (Barefoot). Ingimar Andersen, saxophone; Erik Kimestad, trumpet; Petter Hangsel, trombone; Kristian Tangvik, tuba; Jeppe Zeeberg, piano; Nicolai Kaas Claesson, bass; Rune Lohse, drums.

Mads la Cour’s Almugi: Immer Schon #1 from Hule (WhyPlayJazz). Mads la Cour, cornet; Lars Greve, reeds; Mariusz Prasniewski, bass; Kasper Tom Kristiansen, drums.

Mads la Cour’s Almugi: Terminus from Hule (WhyPlayJazz). As above.

Atom String Quartet: Quasimodo from Seifert (ZSF). Dawid Lubowicz and Mateusz Smoczynski, violins; Michal Zaborski viola; Krzysztof Lenczowski, cello.

Daniel Erdmann & Christophe Marguet: A N’Importe Quel Prix from Three Roads Home (Das Kapital). Daniel Erdmann, saxophone; Henri Texier and Claude Tchamitchian, basses; Christophe Marguet, drums.

Thumbscrew: Effi from Theirs (Cuneiform). Mary Halvorson, guitar; Michael Formanek, bass; Tomas Fujiwara, drums.

Joakim Milder, Fredrik Ljungkvist, Par-Ola Landin & Christopher Cantillo: Alt Fiction from Tradet (El Dingo). Joakim Milder and Fredrik Ljungkvist, reeds; Par-Ola Landin, bass; Christopher Cantillo, drums.

Ivo Neame: Vegetarians from Moksha (Edition). George Crowley, saxophone; Ivo Neame, keyboards; Tom Farmer, bass; James Maddren, drums.

Eyolf Dale: Midsomer Gardens from Return to Mind (Edition). Andre Roligheten, reeds; Hayden Powell, trumpet; Kristoffer Kompen, trombone; Eyolf Dale, piano; Adrian Loseth Waade, violin; Rob Waring, vibraphone; Per Zanussi, bass; Gard Nilssen, drums.

Paul van Kemenade: LT from Master of Lyric (Kemo). Paul van Kemenade, saxophone; Wolter Weirbos, trombone; Jan Kuipers, guitar.

Hans Ludemann & TransEuropeExpress: Schwarz in Weiss from Polyjazz (BMC). Hans Ludemann, piano; Silke Eberhard and Alexandra Grimal, reeds; Yves Robert, trombone; Theo Ceccaldi, violin; Kalle Kalma, guitar; Sebastien Boisseau, bass; Dejan Terzic, drums.