There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Sunday 23 September 2018

Playlist - Sept 23rd 2018

Shannon Barnett Quartet: Ok Compupid from Hype (Double Moon)
LRK Trio: Clockwork Doll from Urban Dreamer (Losen)
MMO Ensemble: Lonely Place from Any Day Now (Ora Fonogram)
MMO Ensemble: Any Day Now Part 2 from Any Day Now (OraFonogram)
WAKO: Langt, Langt der Nede from Urolige Sinn (OraFonogram)
Dinosaur: Quiet Thunder from Wonder Trail (Edition)
Pigfoot: 12th Street Rag from 21st Century Acid Trad (Village Life)
Glenn Ferris Italian Quintet: St. James Infirmary from Animal Love (Improvvisatore Involontario)
Espen Eriksen Trio with Andy Sheppard: Above the Horizon from Perfectly Unhappy (Rune Grammofon)
Kari Sal: Puffin from Betesda (Hevhetia)
Bowman Trio: Just a Scratch from Berlin 27.10.17 (We Jazz)
Donder: Someone to Make Breakfast For from Donder (self-released)
Donder: Oskar from Donder (self-released)
Big Heart Machine: Tamalpais II – Steep Ravine from Big Heart Machine (Outside In Music)
Glenn Ferris Italian Quintet: When the Night Turns into Day from Animal Love (Improvvisatore Involontario)
Julian Siegel Quartet: Vista from Vista (Whirlwind)

Sunday 9 September 2018

Playlist - Sept 9th 2018

Stockholm Jazz Underground: The Sleeper Awakes from Plays the Music of Hans Olding, Nils Janson & Linus Lindblom (El Dingo)
Juan Bayon: Fortaleza from Vidas Simples (Ears& Eyes)
Hadar Noiberg: Na’ama from Open Fields (Jammin’Colors)
Rich Halley 3: Chano Pozo from The Literature (PineEagle)
Stefan Schultze: System Tribe from System Tribe (WhyPlayJazz)
Espen Eriksen Trio with Andy Sheppard: Suburban Folk Song from Perfectly Unhappy (Rune Grammofon)
Arun Ghosh: Sufi Stomp from A South Asian Suite (Camoci)
Josephine Davies: Paradoxy from Satori (Whirlwind)
Nicole Johanntgen: Sweet and Honest from Henry II (Selmabird)
Little Balcony: Little Balcony from Little Balcony (AMP Music and Records)
Slow is the New Fast: Henryk from Slow (AMP Musicand Records)
Tom Barford: Bloomer from Bloomer (Edition)
Steve Coleman & Five Elements: Djw from Live at the Village Vanguard Vol 1 (The Embedded Sets) (Pi Recordings)

Sunday 2 September 2018

Jazz Today Online - Summer 2018

Listen using the widget on the left hand panel, or HERE.

Shannon Barnett Quartet: Chasing the Second from Live @ COMA 2016 10 31 (COMA). Shannon Barnett, trombone; Stefan Karl Schmid, saxophone; David Helm, bass; Fabian Arends, drums.

Linda Kovacs: I’ll Remember April from Recycle (Hevhetia). Linda Kovacs, vocal; Marton Fenyvesi, guitar; Andras Des, percussion.

Roberto Bartoli: Closeness Blues from Landscapes (Dodicilune). Achille Succi, bass clarinet; Roberto Bartoli, bass.

Peggy Lee: Incantation from Echo Painting (Songlines). Brad Turner, trumpet; Jon Bentley and John Patton, saxophones; Roderick Murray, trombone; Meredith Bates, violin; Peggy Lee, cello; Cole Schmidt and Bradshaw Pack, guitars; James Meger, bass; Dylan van der Schyff, percussion.

Improvision Quartet: Gasacki from Free-Folk-Jazz (Hevhetia). Szymon Klima, clainet; Dominik Wania, piano; Adam Kowalewski, bass; Przemyslaw Jarosz, drums.

Henning Sievert’s Symmethree: Twenty One from Aerea (Pirouet).Nils Wogram, trombone; Ronny Graupe, guitar; Henning Sieverts, bass.

Tim Garland: The Snows from Weather Walker (Edition). Tim Garland, saxophone; Jason Rebello, piano; Yuri Goloubev, bass; English Session Orchestra led by David Juritz.

Marty Ehrlich: Yes Yes from Trio Exaltation (CleanFeed). Marty Ehrlich, clarinet; John Hebert, bass; Nasheet Waits, drums.

Hayden Powell: Junior Days from Six Commissions (Periskop). Hayden Powell, trumpet; Eyolf Dale, piano; Jo Skansaar, bass.

Emile Parisien Quintet: Missing a Page from Sfumato Live in Marciac (ACT). Emile Parisien, saxophone; Michel Portal, clarinet; Joachim Kuhn, piano; Manu Codjia, guitar; Simon Tallieu, bass; Mario Costa, drums.