There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Monday 29 March 2021

Jazz Today Online - Spring 2021

Listen using the widget on the left or HERE.

Cowboys & Frenchmen: American Whispers: Streams – An Old Church from Our Highway (Outside In Music). Owen Broder, sax; Ethan Helm, sax and flute; Addison Frei, piano; Ethan O’Reilly, bass; Matt Honor, drums.

Michel Portal: Armenia from MP85 (LabelBleu). Michel Portal, clarinet; Nils Wogram, trombone; Bojan Z, piano.

Vasko Atanasovski Adrabesa Quartet: Meeting from Phoenix (Moonjune). Vasko Atanasovski, sax; Simone Zanchini, accordion; Ariel Vei Atanasovski, cello; Michel Godard, tuba; Bodek Janke, percussion.

Jakop Janssonn: Treetop Reversed from Bricoleur (Finito Bacalao). Hakon Aase, violin; Daniel Herskedal, tuba; Jakop Janssonn, percussion.

Grand Picture Palace: Lucie from Grand Picture Palace (WERF). Rob Banken, clarinet; Cedric de Lat, trumpet; Berlinde Deman, tuba; Analeen Boehme, bass; Matthias de Waele, drums; Herlinde Verjans and Laura Kennis, violins; Rhea Vanhellemont, viola; Juno Kerstens, cello.

Nazareno Caputo: Phylum III from Phylum (Aut). Nazareno Caputo, vibes; Ferdinando Romano, bass; Mattia Galeotti, drums.

John Pope Quintet: Misha – A Miner from Mixed With Glass (New Jazz and Improvised Music). Jamie Stockbridge and Faye MacCalman, reeds; Graham Hardy, trumpet; John Pope, bass; Johnny Hunter, drums.

Alban Darche & Le Gros Cube: Ping-Pong from #2 (Yolk). Alban Darche, Jon Irabagon, Loren Stillman, Remi Sciuto and Matthieu Donarier, reeds; Joel Chausse, Geoffroy Tamisier, Jean-Paul Estievenart and Olivier Laisney, trumpets; John Fedchock, Jean-Louis Pommier and Samuel Blaser, trombones; Matthias Quilbault, tuba; Marie Kruttli, piano; Gilles Coronado, guitar; Sebastien Boisseau, bass; Christophe Lavergne, drums.

Sunday 28 March 2021

Playlist - Mar 28th 2021

Jazz Worms: Launching Pad from Squirmin’ (Capri)

Miguel Zenon & Luis Perdomo: Alma Adentro from El Arte Del Bolero (Miel Music)

Jean-Marie Machado: Gallop Impulse from Majakka (Label la Buissonne)

Bedmakers: Part III from Tribute to an Imaginary Folk Band (Jazzdor Series)

Benoit Delbecq: Family Trees from The Weight of Light (Pyroclastic)

Clemens Muratle Murmullo: Aunt Rose from Lies (Antidro)

Yoko Miwa Trio: No Problem from Songs of Joy (Ubuntu Music)

Sunday 21 March 2021

Playlist - Mar 21st 2021

Vasko Atanasovski Adrabesa Quartet: Meeting from Phoenix (Moonjune)

Nazareno Caputo: Phylum III from Phylum (Aut)

Shai Maestro: Human from Human (ECM)

Shai Maestro: GG from Human (ECM)

Javier Subatin: Trance #5 from Trance (Ears & Eyes)

Andrea Keller: Broken Reflection from Journey Home (self-released)

Lina Allemano Four: Beans from Vegetables (Lumo)

Yelena Eckemoff: Weeding the Garden from Adventures of the Wildflower (L&H Productions)


Intro / Outro – Stephane Huchard: Jakawa Jungle Spoon from Toutakoustiks (Blue Note Fr)

Sunday 14 March 2021

Playlist - Mar 14th 2021

Michel Portal: Full Half Moon from MP85 (LabelBleu)

TuneTown: Layla Tov from Entering Utopia (ThreePines)

Paul Towndrow: Wildfire from Deepening the River (Keywork)

Francois Houle & Samo Salamon: Roots & Seeds from Unobservable Mysteries (self-released)

Francois Lana Trio: Weird Stuff from Cathedrale (Leo)

Enrico Morello: Natural Movement from Cyclic Signs (Auand)

Michel Portal: Armenia from MP85 (Label Bleu)

Airelle Besson: Wild Animals  from Try! (Papillon Jaune)

Cowboys & Frenchmen: The Farmer’s Reason from Our Highway (Outside In Music)

Sunday 7 March 2021

Playlist - Mar 7th 2021

Cesar Cardoso: Along Came Betty from Dice of Tenors (self-released)

Jakop Janssonn: The Wedding of the Spirits from Bricoleur (Finito Bacalao)

Chris Pattishall: Taurus from Zodiac (self-released)

Thumbscrew: Camp Easy from Never Is Enough (Cuneiform)

Alban Darche & Le Gros Cube: Ping-Pong from #2 (Yolk)

Maximiliano Kirszner: Ascendente from Isla (Ears & Eyes)

Jakop Janssonn: Treetop Reversed from Bricoleur (Finito Bacalao)

Matt Carmichael: Firth from Where Will the River Flow (Porthole Music)