There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Tuesday 27 September 2016

Jazz Today Online Playlist - Summer 2016

Listen to the show using the widget in the left-hand panel or HERE 

Laurent Rochelle’s Okidoki Quartet: Okidoki Blues / Okidoki from Si Tu Regardes (Linoleum). Laurent Rochelle, bass clarinet; Frederic Schadoroff, piano; Olivier Brousse, bass; Eric Boccalini, drums.
Csaba Palotai: Menenghina (A Courtesan’s Ballad) from The Deserter (BMC). Csaba Palotai, guitar.
Allison Miller’s Boom Tic Boom: Slow Jam from Otis Was a Polar Bear (Royal Potato Family). Kirk Knuffke, cornet; Jenny Scheinman, violin; Myra Melford, piano; Todd Sickafoose, bass; Allison Miller, drums.
Bojan Z & Nils Wogram: TNT from Housewarming (NWOG). Bojan Z, keyboards; Nils Wogram, trombone.
Workshop de Lyon: Le Plein de Fleurs from Lettres a des Amis Lointains (ARFI). Jean Aussanaire and Jean-Paul Autin, reeds; Jean Bolcato, bass; Christian Rollet, drums.
David Chevallier, Sebastien Boisseau & Christophe Lavergne: You Don’t Know What Love Is / Oh Yes, I Do! from Standards & Avatars (Cristal). David Chevallier, guitar; Sebastien Boisseau, bass; Christophe Lavergne, drums.
Matt Wilson’s Big Happy Family: 25 Years of Rootabagas from Beginning of a Memory (Palmetto). Jeff Lederer and Andrew D’Angelo reeds; Terrell Stafford, trumpet; Gary Versace, keyboards; Martin Wind, bass; Matt Wilson, drums.
Matt Wilson’s Big Happy Family: Searchlight from Beginning of a Memory (Palmetto). Jeff Lederer, Joel Frahm and Andrew D’Angelo reeds; Terrell Stafford, trumpet; Kirk Knuffke, cornet; Gary Versace, keyboards; Martin Wind, Paul Sikivie and Chris Lightcap bass; Matt Wilson, drums.
Eyolf Dale: Sideways from Wolf Valley (Edition). Andre Roligheten, reeds; Hayden Powell, trumpet; Kristoffer Kompen, trombone; Adrian Loseth Waade, violin; Rob Waring, vibraphone; Eyolf Dale, piano; Per Zanussi, bass; Gard Nilssen, drums.
Anna Maria Sturm Quintett: Indifferente from Tales of Woe (WhyPlayJazz). Anna Maria Sturm, vocals; Wanja Slavin, reeds; Uri Gincel, piano; Andreas Lang, bass; Peter Gall, drums.
Achille Succi, Francesco Saiu & Giacomo Papetti: Brown from Three Branches (El Gallo Rojo). Achille Succi, bass clarinet; Francesco Saiu, guitar; Giacomo Papetti, bass.
Johnny Hunter Quartet: Ayca from While We Still Can (Efpi). Ben Watte, tenor saxophone, Graham South, trumpet; Stewart Wilson, bass; Johnny Hunter, drums.
Paul Van Kemenade: Wim from A Kind Of... (KEMO). Paul Van Kemenade, alto saxophone; Wolter Weirbos, trombone; Jan Kuipers, guitar.
Duck Baker Trio: Un Pezzo Pazzo from Deja Vouty (Fulica). Alex Ward, clarinet; Duck Baker, guitar; John Edwards, bass.

Sunday 25 September 2016

Playlist - Sept 25th 2016

US4: Us Three from My Scandinavian Blues – A Tribute to Horace Parlan (Stunt)
Alexander Von Schlippenbach: Serene from Jazz Now! (Intuition)
Piero Bittolo Bon’s Bread & Fox: La Mela di Adesso from Big Hell on Air (Auand / El Gallo Rojo)
Robert Dick & Ursel Schlicht: A Lingering Scent of Eden from The Galilean Moons (Nemu)
Jerome Sabbagh, Simon Jermyn & Allison Miller: Electric Sun from Lean (Music Wizards Inc)
Trifolia: Nagual from Le Refuge (self-released)
Vitaly Golovnev: Blues for My Dues from When in Moscow (Art Beat)
Jim Rattigan, Thomas Gould & Liam Noble: Off the Rails from Triplicity (Pavillon)
Alexander Von Schlippenbach: The Gig from Jazz Now! (Intuition)
Han Bennink & Jaak Sooaar: Pannonica / Beach Party from Beach Party (Barefoot)
This is Pan: Thats Why I Burn For You from This is Pan (Anuk)
This is Pan: Des Moines from This is Pan (Anuk)
Giovanni Guidi, Gianluca Petrella, Louis Sclavis & Gerald Cleaver: La Terra from Ida Lupino (ECM)
Jerome Sabbagh, Simon Jermyn & Allison Miller: Lean from Lean (Music Wizards Inc)
Quinsin Nachoff: Astral Echo Poem from Flux (Mythology)

Sunday 11 September 2016

Playlist - Sept 11th 2016

Outset: Dropped from Outset (Ears & Eyes)
Lorenz Raab Quartett: Aligned from Impassioned (Unit)
Significant Time with Hayden Powell & Andre Roligheten: Bonding with My Body from Regnbueponniens Significante Paskesang (Periskop)
Rantala, Danielsson, Erskine: Kyrie from How Long is Now? (ACT)
Rantala, Danielsson, Erskine: A Nut from How Long is Now? (ACT)
Harris Eisenstadt: Hemlock from Old Growth Forest (CleanFeed)
Jason Roebke Octet: For a Moment from Cinema Spiral (NoBusiness)
Watchdog: Candy Dream from You’re Welcome (Pince Oreilles)
Dan Blake: The Lonely Liar from The Digging (Sunnyside)
Tom Green Septet: Peace of Mind from Skyline (Spark)
Watchdog: Three Monkeys from You’re Welcome (PinceOreilles)
Kris Davis: Prelude to a Kiss from Duopoly (Pyroclastic)
Kris Davis: Bill Frisell from Duopoly (Pyroclastic)
Gina Schwarz Unit feat. Jim Black: Dr. Jekyll & Mrs Hyde from Woodclock (Cracked Anegg)
Sirius Quartet: Ceili from Paths Become Lines (AutenticoMusic)
Nolatet: Dogs from Dogs (Royal Potato Family)
Pablo Held Trio: Spuren from Lineage (Pirouet)
Outset: Something Mellow from Outset (Ears & Eyes)