There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Saturday 29 October 2011

Jazz Today Online - Autumn 2011

Tomas Ulrich’s Transatlantic Quartet: A New Day from Clear Horizons (Gligg). Tomas Ulrich, cello; Christof Thewes, trombone; Martin ‘Schmiddi’ Schmidt, mandolin; Michael Griener, drums.
Wojtek Mazolewski Quintet: Newcomer from Smells Like Tape Spirit (Mystic Production). Oscar Torok, trumpet; Marek Pospieszalski, saxophone; Joanna Duda, piano; Wojtek Mazolewski, bass; Michal Bryndal, drums.

The Nice Guy Trio: I Can See Infinity from Here from Sidewalks and Alleys / Waking Music (Porto Franco). Darren Johnston, trumpet; Rob Reich, accordion; Daniel Fabricant, bass; Mads Tolling, Anthony Blea, Dina Maccabee and Mark Summer, strings.

Arun Ghosh: Unravel from Primal Odyssey (Camoci). Arun Ghosh, Idris Rahman and Shabaka Hutchings, reeds; Liran Donin, bass; Pat Illingworth, drums.
Admiral Awesome feat. Fredrik Ljungkvist: Fredriks Andra Horna from Admiral Awesome (Gateway Music). Jacob Danielsen and Fredrik Ljungkvist, reeds; Thomas Sejthen, bass; Christian Windfeld, drums.

Erik Friedlander: Transpontine from Bonebridge (Skipstone). Erik Friedlander, cello; Doug Wamble, guitar; Trevor Dunn, bass; Mike Sarin, drums.
Havard Stubo Quartet: Red from Spring Roll Insomnia (Bolage). Knut Riisnaes, saxophone; Havard Stubo, guitar; Torbjorn Zetterberg, bass; Hakon Mjaset Johansen, drums.

Klang: Angles Sing from Other Doors (Allos Documents). James Falzone, clarinet; Jason Adasiewicz, vibraphone; Jason Roebke, bass; Tim Daisy, drums.
Paul Van Kemenade: Who is in Charge? from Who is in Charge? (Kemo). Paul Van Kemenade, saxophone; Ray Anderson, trombone; Frank Mobus, guitar; Ernst Glerum, bass; Han Bennink, drums.

Sunday 23 October 2011

Jazz Today Playlist: Oct 23rd 2011

Moutin Reunion Quartet: Red Moon from Red Moon (Nocturne)
The Nice Guy Trio: I Can See Infinity from Here from Sidewalks and Alleys / Waking Music (Porto Franco)
Darren Johnston’s Gone to Chicago: Black and Tan Fantasy from The Big Lift (Porto Franco)
Gilfema +2: One’s Mind’s Eye from Gilfema +2 (Obliqsound)
Arun Ghosh: Unravel from Primal Odyssey (Camoci)
Neil Yates: Dustfall / Spin the Sky from Five Countries (Edition)
Mikko Innanen & Innkvisitio: Clustrophy from Clustrophy (TUM)
Trondheim Jazz Orchestra & Maria Kannegaard Trio: How Come? from Live in Oslo (MNJ)
Andrew Cyrille & Haitian Fascination:  Hope Springs Eternal from Routes de Freres (TUM)
Angelika Niescier: Bajazzo from Quite Simply (Enja)
The South Trio: Eddies Theme from Elegy for a Raver (Shift)
Nils Wogram Root 70: Listen to Your Woman from Listen to Your Woman (nwog)
Jonathan Bratoeff Quartet: Transition from Mindscapes (F-IRE)
Arun Ghosh: Yerma from Primal Odyssey (Camoci)
Steve Swallow: Item 2 from Damaged in Transit (XtraWATT)

Sunday 9 October 2011

Jazz Today Playlist: Oct 9th 2011

Nils Wogram Septet: Swing Moral from Swing Moral (Enja)
Talking Cows: Ruminating from Dairy Tales (Morvin)
Kairos 4tet: The Calling from Statement of Intent (Edition)
Tim Hagans: First Jazz from The Moon is Waiting (Palmetto)
J.C.Capon Original Quartet: Cors Apres Moi from Capophonie (CC Production)
Richard Galliano & Jean-Charles Capon: Blues Sur Seine from Blues Sur Seine (Label La Lichere)
Admiral Awesome feat. Fredrik Ljungkvist: Different Directions from Admiral Awesome (Gateway Music)
Dimami meets Joost Buis: Givet from Shadow of a Cloud (Morvin)
Dimami meets Joost Buis: Zwalken from Shadow of a Cloud (Morvin)
Nils Wogram Root 70: Erectile Disfunction from Listen To Your Woman (NWOG)
Malcolm Braff: Tied to Tide from Inside (Enja)
Jeb Bishop Trio: 900 from 2009 (Better Animal)
Admiral Awesome feat. Fredrik Ljungkvist: Fredriks Andra Horna from Admiral Awesome (Gateway Music)
Zeno de Rossi Shtik: When We’re Alone from The Manne I Love! (El Gallo Rojo)
Felix Stussi 5 & Ray Anderson: Hit ‘Em With Rhythm from Hieronymus (Effendi)
Martin Fondse & Starvinsky Orkestar: Uncle M. from Fragrant Moondrops (Basta)

Biotone: That Day’s Mood from Unspoken Words (SJ Records)