There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Saturday 28 May 2016

Jazz Today Online - Spring 2016

Listen to the show using the widget in the left-hand panel or HERE

Pino Minafra: Minafric from Minafric (Sud). Pino Minafra, Vito Francesco Mitoli, Marco Sannini, trumpet; Roberto Ottaviano, Gaetano Partipilo, Carlo Actis Dato, Nicola Pisani, saxophone; Beppe Caruso, Sebi Tramontana, trombone; Giorgio Albanese, accordion; Livio Minafra, keyboards; Giorgio Vendola, bass; Vincenzo Mazzone, Giuseppe Tria, percussion.

Peter Scharli Trio feat. Glenn Ferris: Bahia Mood (Sugar Lady) from Purge (Enja). Peter Scharli, trumpet; Glenn Ferris trombone; Hans Peter Pfammatter, piano; Thomas Durst, bass.

Sarah Bernstein Quartet: Paper Eyes from Still / Free (Leo). Sarah Bernstein, violin; Kris Davis, piano; Stuart Popejoy, electric bass; Ches Smith, drums.

LABtrio feat. Michael Attias & Chris Hoffman:  Low Fat from The Howls Are Not What They Seem (OutNote). Michael Attias, saxophone; Christopher Hoffman, cello; Bram de Looze, keyboards; Anneleen Boehme, bass; Lander Gyselinck, drums.

Andreas Loven: Roots from District Six (Losen). Buddy Wells, saxophone, Andreas Loven, piano; Remy Brauteseth, bass; Clement Benny, drums.

Pigfoot: 12th Street Rag from 21st Century Acid Trad (Village Life). Chris Batchelor, trumpet; Liam Noble, piano; Oren Marshall, tuba; Paul Clarvis, drums.

Myra Melford & Ben Goldberg: Anymore from Dialogue (self-released). Myra Melford piano; Ben Goldberg, clarinet.

Myra Melford & Ben Goldberg: Be Melting Snow from Dialogue (self-released). As above.

Henri Texier: Mic Mac from Dakota Mab (Intuition). Sebastian Texier and Francois Corneloup, reeds; Henri Texier, bass; Louis Moutin, drums.

3 / 4 Peace: Constructive Criticism from Rainy Days on the Common Land (El Negocito). Ben Sluijs, saxophone and flute; Christian Mendoza, piano; Brice Soniano, bass.

Ronnings Jazzmaskin: Flyaway Gary from Jazzmaskin! (Losen). Martin Myhre Olsen and Petter Kraft, saxophones; Egil Kalman, bass; Truls Ronning, drums.

Sunna Gunnlaugs & Maarten Ornstein: Misterioso from Unspoken (Sunny Sky). Sunna Gunnlaugs, piano; Maarten Ornstein, clarinet.

Roberto Negro Trio invite Christophe Monniot: La Buona Stella from Luna Di Wuxi / Kimono (Tricollectif). Roberto Negro piano; Christophe Monniot, saxophone; Jerome Arrighi, electric bass; Adrien Chennebault, drums.

Suga Dairo Trio: Marches on as a Ring from Goldenfish (Velvetsun). Suga Dairo, piano; unknown bass and drums.

Huw V Williams: Beryl from Hon (Chaos Collective). Laura Jurd, trumpet; Alam Nathoo, saxophone; Elliot Galvin, keyboards; Huw V Williams, bass; Peter Ibbetson, drums.

Huw V Williams: Skardu’s Missing from Hon (ChaosCollective). As above.

Sunday 22 May 2016

Playlist - May 22nd 2016

Omer Avital: Afrik from Abutbul Music (JazzVillage)
LAB Trio: Avondlijke Rust from The Howls are Not What They Seem (OutNote)
Pino Minafra: Minafric from Minafric (Sud)
Hadar Noiberg: When the Dawn from From the Ground Up (Dot Time)
P.L.I.N.T.: Lisboa from Live in Johannesburg (EkayaProductions)
Mario Rom’s Interzone: Blue Velvet from Everything is Permitted (Traumton)
Alex Hutton Trio: The Barons from Magna Carta Suite (F-IRE Presents)
Alex Hutton Trio: June 15th 2015 from Magna Carta Suite (F-IRE Presents)
Alex Hutton Trio: Self Made Man from Magna Carta Suite (F-IRE Presents)
Mopo: Metsarukkanen from Jee (Texicalli)
Water Boogie System: Penguins from Greetings (Soda Music)
Amir ElSaffar: Flyover Iraq from Crisis (PiRecordings)
Carlos Bica & Azul: Elle M’A Dit from Things About (Clean Feed)
Laura Jurd's Dinosaur: Living Breathing (unreleased)
Rebecca Trescher and Ensemble 11: Malachit (unreleased)
Tonbruket: Polka Oblivion from Forevergreens (ACT)
Christoph Irniger’s Pilgrim: Body Dope from Italian Circus Story (Intakt)

(Intro - Stephane Huchard: Jakawa Jungle Spoon from Toutakoosticks (Blue Note)

Sunday 8 May 2016

Playlist - May 8th 2016

Jason Rebello: Blackbird from Held (Edition)
Nikolaus Neuser 5tet: Happy Vamping from Pink Elephant (Jazzwerkstatt)
Atom String Quartet: First Breath from Atom Sphere (Kayax)
Hanna Paulsberg’s Concept: Catalan Boy from Eastern Smiles (Odin)
Keenroh XL: Eukarist from Keenroh XL (El Negocito)
Peter Scharli Trio feat. Glenn Ferris: Bahia Mood (Sugar Lady) from Purge (Enja)
Atom String Quartet: Ballada o Smierci Janosika from Atom Sphere (Kayax)
Rhythm Future Quartet: The Keeper from Travels (Magic Fiddle Music)
Jason Rebello: Thanks John from Held (Edition)
Slow is Possible: Vejo Asas no Vento from Slow is Possible (JACC)
Nils Wogram’s Root 70: Chelsea Bridge from Wise Men Can Be Wrong (NWOG)
Noah Preminger: Hard Times Killin’ Floor Blues from Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground (self-released)
Hermine Deurloo & ZAPP4: Ericerias from Welling (Tin Wood Music)
Hermine Deurloo & ZAPP4: Portrait of Tracy from Welling (Tin Wood Music)
Geoff Eales: Atonement from Transience (FuzzyMoon)
Stu Hunter: Dawn Chorus from The Migration (Habitat)
Lucian Ban’s Elevation: Southern Dawn from Songs from Afar (Sunnyside)