There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Sunday 26 February 2017

Playlist - Feb 26th 2017

Operasjon Hegge: Bosse & Dorris from Midt Pa Natta (Particular Recordings)
Estafest: Cookies from Bayachrimae (BMC)
Nick Finzer: Single Petal of a Rose from Hear & Now (Outside In Music)
Ben Lee Quintet: Scratching the Itch from In The Tree (StoneyLane)
Ross Hammond & Vinny Golia: Aslaning from Ross Hammond & Vinny Golia (Prescott)
Gianluigi Trovesi & Umberto Petrin: Summer Evening from Twelve Colours and Synesthetic Cells (Dodicilune)
Operasjon Hegge: Min Forste Mars from Midt Pa Natta (Particular Recordings)
Wako & Oslo Strings: King of Kings from Modes for All Eternity (AMP Music)
Emanuele Parrini: Blues P #3 from The Blessed Prince (Long Song)
Ben Lee Quintet: Beginning of The End from In The Tree (Stoney Lane)
Daniel Herskedal: The Roc from The Roc (Edition)
Bridges with Seamus Blake: Song for Karla from Bridges with Seamus Blake (AMP Music)
Josh Green & The Cyborg Orchestra: The Lauer Faceplant: Based on a True Story from Telepathy & Bop (self-released)
David James’s GPS: Wag the Puppy from Billionaire Blues (self released)
David James’s GPS: Billionaire Blues from Billionaire Blues (self released)
Sebastien Amman: On A Move from Color Wheel (Skirl)
Anders Lonne Gronseth: Caput Mortuum from Mini Macro Ensemble Vol2 (Pling Music)
Knut Riisnaes Quartet: Petite Prix from 2nd Thoughts (Losen)

Intro - Stephane Huchard: Jakawa Jungle Spoon from Toutakoosticks (Blue Note Fr)

Tuesday 14 February 2017

Jazz Today Online - Winter 2017

To listen to the podcast, click the widget in the left hand panel or HERE.

Franck Tortiller & Francois Corneloup: Walking Fellows from Singing Fellows (MCO). Franck Tortiller, vibraphone; Francois Corneloup, baritone saxophone.

Mihaly Dresch Quartet with Chris Potter: Togo from Zea (Budapest Music Centre). Mihaly Dresch & Chris Potter, reeds; Miklos Lukacs, cimbalom; Erno Hock bass; Istvan Balo, drums.

Marc Boutillot Quartet: Etrange Procession from Lumiere sur la Nuit (Classiquez). Marc Boutillot, clarinet; Leonida Fava, guitar; Philippe Monge, bass; Julien Augier, drums.

Lubos Soukup & Points Septet: Rhythm from Lubos Soukup & Points Septet (Animal Music). Lubos Soukup, Marcel Barta and Petr Kalfus, reeds; Oskar Torok, trumpet; Jan Jirucha, trombone; Jaromir Honzak, bass; Tomas Hobzek, drums.

Lubos Soukup & Points Septet: Leto 1985 from Lubos Soukup & Points Septet (Animal Music). As above.

Gold Age: Peach Orchard from Gold Age (Singlespeed Music). Aram Shelton, reeds; Mark Clifford, vibraphone; Safa Shokrai, bass; Britt Ciampa, drums.

Scrapbook: Triads from Scrapbook (Spark). Alaric Taylor, trumpet; Kieran McLeod, trombone; Angus Bayley, piano; Nick Sigsworth, violin; Daisy Watkins, viola; Paul Trippett, bass; Dave Hamblett, drums.

Vanbinsbergen Playstation: Goofy from Live (Buzz). Mete Erker and  Miguel Boelens, reeds; Morris Kliphuis, French horn; Joost Buis, trombone; Corrie van Binsbergen, guitar; Albert van Veenendaal, piano; Dion Nijland, bass; Yonga Sun, drums.

Franck Tortiller & Francois Corneloup: La Lecon des Jours from Singing Fellows (MCO). Franck Tortiller, marimba; Francois Corneloup, baritone saxophone.

BassDrumBone: Cherry Pickin from The Long Road (Auricle). Ray Anderson, trombone; Joe Lovano, saxophone; Mark Helias, bass; Gerry Hemmingway, drums.

Sunday 12 February 2017

Playlist - February 12th 2017

Eric Seva: Monsieur Toulouse from Nomade Sonore (Gaya)
Jacob Anderskov: Alpha from Resonance (Stunt)
Noah Preminger: A Change is Gonna Come from Meditations on Freedom (self-released)
Mathias Heise Quadrillion: Sudden Ascent from Sudden Ascent (Giant Sheep Music)
Leszek Kulakowski Ensemble: Regi from Looking Ahead (ForTune)
Ross Hammond: Blues for Rusty Moses from Follow Your Heart (Prescott)
Scrapbook: Henno from Scrapbook (Spark)
Filip Augustson: Ogat from Minsta Gemensamma Namnaren (Found You Recordings)
Tim Garland: The Eternal Greeting from One (Edition)
Ross Hammond: I Ain’t Scared of Your Jail from Follow Your Heart (Prescott)
Twelves: Long Time Traveller from Strange Folk (Babel)
Hans Ludemann’s Rooms: Dark Lights from Blaue Kreise (BMC)
Hans Ludemann’s Rooms: Blaue Kreise from Blaue Kreise (BMC)
Eric Seva: Rue aux Fromages from Nomade Sonore (Gaya)
Jachna / Tarwid / Karch: One for Hedgehog from Sundial II (Hevhetia)
Adam Pieronczyk: Departure from Monte Alban (self-released)
Noah Preminger: Just the Way It Is from Meditations on Freedom (self-released)
Roberto Gatto Quartet: Sixth Sense from Sixth Sense (Parco Della Musica)