There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Sunday 23 February 2020

Playlist - Feb 23rd 2020

Lenny Sendersky & Moon Strings: I Got Rhythm from Blues Mizrahi (Losen)
Marco von Orelli, Tommy Meier, Luca Sisera & Sheldon Suter: Maiduguri from Lotus Crash (Ezz-thetics)
Wako: Wako Amok from Wako (Ora Fonogram)
Mike Nock, Hamish Stuart, Julien Wilson & Jonathan Zwartz: Any Heart from This World (Lionsharecords)
Jim Hart & Ivo Neame: Serie de Arco from Multiverse (Edition)
Tercet Kamili Drabek: Forever Late from Muzyka Naiwna (Soliton)
Joy Ellis: Let Sleeping Dogs Lie from Dwell (Oti-O)
Nicole Johanntgen: I’m Feelin’ Dank from Henry II (Selmabird)
Jeremy Kahn: Red Gables from Door Mouse (self-released)
Nacka Forum: OhSoGood from Sa Stopper Festen (Moserobie)
Andrew McCormack: The Calling from Graviton: The Calling (Ubuntu)
Pat Thomas, Dominic Lash & Tony Orrell: In a Sentimental Mood from Bley School (577)
Ernesto Cervini: Forward Motion from Tetrahedron (Anzic)
PBB’s Bread & Fox: Extreme Menstrual Monster from Mestre from This Is Sour Music (Trouble in the East)
Ben Bryden: The Cold Shoulder from Figure of Eight (Circavision)

Friday 14 February 2020

Jazz Today Online - Winter 2020

Listen using the widget on the left, or HERE.

Luca Sisera Roofer: Struggle Bubble from Starlex Complex (nWOG). Michael Jaeger, sax; Maurus Twerenbold, trombone; Yves Theiler, piano; Luca Sisera, bass; Michi Stulz, drums.

Vincent Courtois, Robin Fincker & Daniel Erdmann: Love of Life from Love of Life (La Buissonne). Vicent Courtois, cello; Robin Fincker and Daniel Erdmann, reeds.

Chuffdrone: Fresh Start from Re:Actio (Jazzwerkstatt). Lisa Hofmaninger and Robert Schrock, reeds; Jul Dillier, piano; Judith Ferstl, bass; Judith Schwarz, drums.

Vorwarts Ruckwarts: Rewarding Environment from Rewarding Environment (Trouble In The East). Gerhard Gschlossl, trombone; Johannes Fink, cello; Maike Hilbig, bass.

The Calum Gourlay Quartet: New Ears from New Ears (Ubuntu). Helena Kay, sax; Kieran McCleod, trombone; Calum Gourlay, bass; James Maddren, drums.

Adalberto Ferrari 3 Ele-Ments: Mah from Unstable Watercolors (Dodicilune). Adalberto Ferrari, clarinet; Antonio Zambrini, piano; Marco Ricci, bass.

Isabelle Olivier & Rez Abbasi: My Favourite Things from Oasis (Enja Yellowbird). Isabelle Olivier, harp; Rez Abbasi, guitar; Prabhu Edouard and David Paycha, percussion.

Monk Spent Youth: Bubu’s Birthday from Monk Spent Youth (F-IRE). Zac Gvirtzman, toy piano.

Monk Spent Youth: Wee See from Monk Spent Youth (F-IRE). Zac Gvirtzman, piano; Ben Davis, cello; Fred Thomas, drums.

Okidoki: Diaphonica from When Oki Meets Doki (Linoleum). Anja Kowalski, vocals; Laurent Rochelle, bass clarinet; Frederic Schadoroff, piano; Eric Boccalini, drums.

Bite The Gnatze: Knorrepot from Good Bike Fair Wheel (Trytone). Joost Buis, trombone; Michel Duijves and Steven Kamperman, reeds; Frank van Bommel, keys; Paul Palleson, guitar; Meinrad Kneer, bass; Alan Purves, percussion.

The Workshop: Ornette Like from More Conversations with the Drum (Onze Heures Onze). Stephane Payene and Bo van der Werf; Olivier Laisney, trumpet; Nelson Veras, guitar; Guillaume Ruelland, bass; Vincent Sauve and Thibault Perriard, drums.

Sunday 9 February 2020

Playlist - February 9th 2020

Pablo Held: Poem #6 from Ascent (Edition)
Nacka Forum: Reboleira from Sa Stopper Festen (Moserobie)
Der Moment: Langsame Ballade from La Grande Perfettione (Trouble In The East)
Der Moment: Rosendixie from La Grande Perfettione (Trouble In The East)
Houben & Son: The Fall from 7/7 (Igloo)
Michael Moore Fragile Quartet: Fenix Blue from Cretan Dialogues (Ramboy)
Luca Sisera Roofer: Struggle Bubble from Starlex Complex (nWOG)
Dan Weiss Trio Plus 1: Rock and Heat from Utica Box (Sunnyside)
Moonmot: 35 Years from Going Down the Well (Unit)
Martin Speake: Spring Dance from Intention (Ubuntu Music)
Okidoki: Diaphonica from When Oki Meets Doki (Linoleum)
Pat Irwin & J. Walter Hawkes: It Gets Late from Wide Open Sky (self-released)
Pat Irwin & J. Walter Hawkes: February from Wide Open Sky (self-released)
Ettore Fioravanti: Antipatico from Opus Magnum (Alfa Music)
Trio Antipodes: When the Wild Man Makes an Appearance from Upside Downwards (Rattle)
Nigel Hitchcock: Blaven Mist from Hitchgnosis (Eight Inch Clock)
Esben Brandt: Sin from I Wonder What You See (Gateway)
Jay Anderson: Southern Smiles from Deepscape (Steeplechase)