There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Monday 28 November 2016

Jazz Today Online - Autumn 2016 Playlist

To listen, click the widget in the left hand panel, or click HERE

S’il Te Plait Madame: Perruque et Postiche from The King and The Queen of a Senior Citizens Dance (Petit). Pierre Millet, trumpet; Fabrice Theuillon, saxophone; Mathieu Millet, bass; Emmanuel Penfeunteun, drums.

Duo Van Otterloo Van Veenendaal: No Trace from No Trace (Brokkenrecords). Rutger Van Otterloo, saxophone; Albert Van Veenendaal, piano.

Dag Magnus Narvesen Octet (DaMaNa): Chokolypse from Cornua Copiae (Clean Feed). Kristoffer Alberts, Jorgen Mathisen and Andre Roligheten, reeds; Hayden Powell, trumpet; Kristoffer Kompen, trombone; Oyvind Dale, piano; Adrian Myhr, bass; Dag Magnus Narvesen, drums.

So!triO: South from Maze (Self-released). Olivier Soubeyran, cello; Yann Auger, guitar; Hakim Molina, drums.

Piero Bittolo Bon’s Bread & Fox: La Mela di Adesso from Big Hell on Air (Auand / El Gallo Rojo). Piero Bittolo Bon, reeds; Filippo Vignato, trombone; Glauco Benedetti, tuba; Alfonso Santimone, piano; Andrea Grillini, drums.

Nautilus: Infrablue from Infrablue (Two Rivers). Hayden Chisholm, saxophone; Jurgen Friedrich, piano; Robert Lucaciu, bass; Philipp Scholz, drums.

I Am Three: Better Get Hit in Yo’ Soul from Mingus, Mingus, Mingus (Leo). Silke Eberhard, saxophone; Nikolaus Neuser, trumpet; Christian Marien, drums.

Adriano Clemente & the Akashmani Ensemble: Inner Fires from The Mingus Suite (Dodicilune). Francesco Lento, trumpet: Mario Corvini, trombone; Daniele Tittarelli and Marco Guidolotti, reeds; Riccardo Fassi, piano: Raffaele Toninelli and Dario Rosciglione, bass; Andrea Nunzi, drums.

Mosaic: Cryptogram from Subterranea (Edition). Ralph Wyld, vibraphone; James Copus, trumpet; Sam Rapley, clarinet; Cecelia Bignall, cello; Misha Mullov-Abbado, bass; Scott Chapman, drums.

Sunday 27 November 2016

Playlist - Nov 27th 2016

Vanbinsbergen Playstation: Goofy from Live (Buzz)
Jean-Marc Foltz & Stephan Oliva: Fascinating Rhythm / Someone to Watch Over Me from Gershwin (Vision Fugitive)
Day & Taxi: S from Way (Percaso)
I Am Three: Oh Lord, Don’t Let Them Drop That Atomic Bomb on Me from Mingus, Mingus, Mingus (Leo)
Bell: Fahrradstrassenschnellfahrstrecke from Obsessions (Wismart)
Daniel Erdmann’s Velvet Revolution: A Short Moment of Zero G from A Short Moment of Zero G (BMC)
Steve Gadd Band: Africa from Way Back Home (BFM Jazz)
Jean-Marc Foltz & Stephan Oliva: Summertime from Gershwin (Vision Fugitive)
Kris Allen: Lowborn (Proverbs 62:9) from Beloved (Truth Revolution)
Giulio Romano Malaisi: Green Flower Street from Unexpected Ride (self-released)
Brass Funkeys: DIY from Brass Funkeys (self-released)
Michel Pilz & Jean-Noel Cognard: Les Travees Basses des Facades from Ressuage (JazzHausMusik)
Hakon Storm: Karusell from Kobolt (NorCD)
Hyper + Amir ElSaffar: Mono Esa Tono from Saadif (
Jonathan Finlayson & Sicilian Defence: Cap vs. Nim from Moving Still (Pi Recordings)
BassDrumBone: Bluish from The Long Road (Auricle)
Lorenzo De Finti Quartet: The Very Last Song from We Live Here (Losen)

Intro - Stephane Huchard: Jakawa Jungle Spoon from Toutakoosticks (EMI France / Blue Note)

Sunday 13 November 2016

Playlist - Nov 13th 2016

Phronesis: Manioc Maniac from Parallax (Edition)
I Am Three: Better Get Hit in Yo’ Soul from Mingus, Mingus, Mingus (Leo)
So!triO: South from Maze (Self-released)
Mark Dresser Seven: Hobby Lobby Horse from Sedimental You (Clean Feed)
Nick Sanders & Logan Strosahl: Sigma from Janus (Sunnyside)
Vanbinsbergen Playstation: Als Mijn Hart de Weg Volgt from Live (Buzz)
Nikki Iles: Fly’s Dilemma from Everything I Love (Basho)
Kate Williams: Portrait in Black and White from Four Plus Three (KWjazz)
Dinosaur: Living, Breathing from Together, As One (Edition)
Snowpoet: If I Miss a Star from Snowpoet (TwoRivers)
Misha Mullov-Abbado: Ode to King Michael from New Ansonia (Edition)
Duo Van Otterloo Van Veenendaal: No Trace from No Trace (Brokkenrecords)
Ole Matthiessen: OCBBCT from Flashbacks & Dedications (Stunt)
Eve Risser’s White Desert Orchestra: Earth Skin Cut from Les Deux Versants Se Regardent (Clean Feed)