There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Sunday 24 May 2020

Playlist - May 24th 2020

Christophe Marguet: Dear Don from Happy Hours (Melodie)
Mihaly Borbely Quartet: Stony Broke from Grenadilla (BMC)
Christof Mahnig & Die Abmahnung: Eric’s Breakfast from Red Carpet (Leo)
Saxicola Rubi: Morgen from Ornithologismes (Linoleum)
Urs Blochlinger Revisited: Rudy the Pimp from Harry Doesn’t Mind (Leo)
John Law’s Congregation: Scandinavian Lullaby from Configuration (Ubuntu)
Linley Hamilton Quintet: Sure Would Baby from For the Record (Teddy D)
Maisemat: Cold Rabbits from Maisemat (Eclipse)
Nutria: Meeting in Progress from Meeting in Progress (Ears & Eyes)
Peter Rosendal with The Orchestra & Trio Mio: Petuko from Trickster (Stunt)
Superposition: Ballad No 3 from Superposition (We Jazz)
Saxicola Rubi: Midi Nonante from Ornithologismes (Linoleum)
Audun Trio: Happy Go Lucky from Elegy (AMPMusic & Records)
Tineke Postma: Freya from Freya (Edition)
Akagera: Jamal from Serpente (Prado)
Anne Mette Iversen Quartet +1: Cluster from Racing A Butterfly (Brooklyn Jazz Underground)

Thursday 14 May 2020

Jazz Today Online - Spring 2020

Listen using the widget on the left....or HERE

Henri Texier: Cinecitta from Chance (LabelBleu). Sebastien Texier and Vincent Le Quang, reeds; Manu Codjia, guitar; Henri Texier, bass; Gautier Garrigue, drums.

Reverso: Absinthe from The Melodic Line (Out Note). Ryan Keberle, trombone; Vincent Courtois, cello; Frank Woeste, piano.

Obradovic Tixier Duo: Dear You from Stories of a Smoking Kettle (Naim). David Tixier, piano; Lada Obradovic, drums and vocals.

MoonMot: Threnody for the English Polity from Going Down the Well (Unit). Dee Byrne and Cath Roberts, saxophones; Simon Petermann, trombone; Oli Kuster, keyboards; Seth Bennett, bass; Johnny Hunter, drums.

Dinosaur: Mosking from To the Earth (Edition). Laura Jurd, trumpet, fluegelhorn, tenor horn; Elliot Galvin, keyboards; Conor Chaplin, bass; Corrie Dick, drums.

Gard Nilssen’s Supersonic Orchestra: Teppen Dance from If You Listen Carefully The Music is Yours (Odin). Hanna Paulsberg, Kjetil Moster, Andre Roligheten, Per ‘Texas’ Johansson, Maciej Obara, Mette Rasmussen and Eirik Hegdal, reeds; Thomas Johansson and Goran Kajfes, trumpet; Erik Johannessen, trombone; Petter Eldh, Ingebrigt Haker Flaten and Ole Morten Vagan, bass; Hans Hulbaekmo, Hakon Mjaset Johansen and Gard Nilssen, drums.

Unwind: Nearer My God to Thee from Saffron (Rattle). Hayden Chisholm, saxophone, shruti box; Norman Meehan, piano; Paul Dyne, bass; Julien Dyne, drums.

Waldemar 4: Funambulistics from The Buoy and the Sea (AMP Music and Records). Andre Roligheten, reeds; Havard Wiik, piano; Trygve Waldemar Fiske, bass; Erik Nylander, drums.

Jasper Hoiby: Life is a Gift from Planet B (Edition). Josh Arcoleo, saxophone; Jasper Hoiby, bass; Marc Michel, drums.

Torbjorn Zetterberg & Den Stora Fragan: Oraklet i Finnaker from Are You Happy? (Moserobie). Jonas Kullhammar and Alberto Pinton, reeds; Susana Santos Silva, trumpet; Mats Aleklint, trombone; Alexander Zethson, keyboards; Torbjorn Zetterberg, bass; Lars Skoglund and Jon Falt, drums.

Sunday 10 May 2020

Playlist - May 10th 2020

Daniel Bingert: Cinco de Mayo from Berit in Space (Moserobie)
Carla Bley, Andy Sheppard & Steve Swallow: Life Goes On from Life Goes On (ECM)
Dinosaur: Mosking from To the Earth (Edition)
Juan Vinuesa Jazz Quartet: Red Line Ballad from Blue Shots from Chicago (No Business)
Playground 4: Hit the Ground Running from Hit the Ground Running (Jazzhausmusik)
Chris Speed, Zeno De Rossi, Danilo Gallo feat. Marc Ribot: Delancy Waltz from Midnight Lilacs (UR)
Mihaly Borbely Quartet: Our Favorite Things from Grenadilla (BMC)
Samo Salamon, Igor Matkovic & Kristijan Krajncan: Dutchie from Rare Ebb (Samo)
Mark Godfrey: No Gig Today from Square Peg (self-released)
Dinosaur: Slow Loris from To the Earth (Edition)
Peter Rosendal, The Orchestra & Trio Mio: Solstik 2 from Trickster (Stunt)
Carla Bley, Andy Sheppard & Steve Swallow: Beautiful Telephones II from Life Goes On (ECM)
Hagiga Sextet: Like Farb from New Directions (QFTF)
Day Dream: Spell from Originals (CornerStore Jazz)
Will Vinson: Cherry Time from Four Forty One (Whirlwind)
Harry Tinney: Castles from Kingsnake (self-released)

Intro / Outro – Stephane Huchard: Jakawa Jungle Spoon from Toutakoustiks (Blue Note Fr)