There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Sunday 26 August 2012

Jazz Today Playlist - 26th August 2012

Christoph Stiefel Inner Language Trio: Isorhythm #4 from Live! (Basho)
Maxime Bender 4tet: Awake from Follow the Eye (Jazzsick)
Theo Ceccaldi Trio: Excusez-moi from Carrousel (Ayler)
Natalie Cressman & Secret Garden: Honeysuckle Rose from Unfolding (self-released)
Todd Bishop Group: Enfant from Little Played Little Bird (Origin)
Gunhild Seim & Time Jungle with Marilyn Crispell: Elephant in the Room from Elephant Wings (Drollehala)
Christoph Stiefel Inner Language Trio: New Waltz for Nina from Live! (Basho)
Trio Bravo: Quatrieme Monde from Quatrieme Monde (Igloo)
Balzalorsky Drasler 3o: Slon from Wu-Wei (Radio Student)
Aram Shelton Quartet: Anticipation from Everything for Somebody (Singlespeed Music)
Chris McGregor: Ududu Nombambula from In His Good Time (Ogun)
Collapse: The Rain from Collapse (Igloo)
Gato Libre: Moor from Forever (Libra)
Natsuki Tamura & Satoko Fujii: Muku from Muku (Libra)
Tomas Fujiwara & The Hook Up: Double Lake, Defined from The Air is Different (482 Music)
Theo Ceccaldi Trio: Tiding Ting from Carrousel (Ayler)
Stefan Orins Trio: Trappan from Stot (Circum Disc)
Gerry Hemingway Quintet: Backabacka from Riptide (Clean Feed)

Sunday 5 August 2012

Jazz Today Online: Summer Edition

The Summer 2012 Edition of Jazz Today Online is now available for your listening pleasure!

Click on the green arrow to the left. Here is the full playlist:

Vasko Atanasovski Visions Ensemble: Midnight Summer Concert 3 from Bohemia (self-released). Vasko Atanasovski, saxophone; Simone Zanchini, accordion; Zoltan Lantos and Xu Fengxia, strings; Michel Godard, tuba; Ziga Golob, bass; Krunoslav Levacic, drums.

Tva For Tommy: Baby Boom Boom from Tva For Tommy (Found You Recordings). Fredrik Ljungkvist, clarinet; Mattias Stahl, vibes; Patric Thorman, bass.

Lochs Balthaus Herskedal: Zany from Choices (Berthold). Bert Lochs, trumpet; Dirk Balthaus, piano; Daniel Herskedal, tuba.

Nicolai Munch-Hansen: My Man from Chronicles (Stunt). Kira Skov, vocals; Ned Ferm, saxophone; Mads Hyne, trombone; Jakob Bro, guitar; Soren Kjaergaard, piano; Nicolai Munch-Hansen, bass; Jakob Hoyer, drums.

Donat Fisch Quartett: Desmond from Lappland (Unit). Donat Fisch and Andy Scherrer, saxophones; Banz Oester, bass; Norbert Pfammatter, drums.

The Leaping Fish Trio: Finger Prints from Sankofa (El Gallo Rojo). Enrico Terragnoli, banjo; Paulo Botti, viola; Zeno De Rossi, drums.

K Trio: Du Ba De from Recavidur (Dimma). Kristjan Martinsson, piano; Petur Sigurdsson, bass; Magnus Trygvason Eliassen, drums.

Robert Jukic: Charlie from Operation Charlie (dit’ e nat’). Daniele D’Agaro, reeds; David Jahr, trumpet; Goran Krmac, tuba; Robert Jukic, bass; Wolfi Rainer, drums.

Yuri Honing Acoustic Quartet: Paper Bag from True (Challenge). Yuri Honing, saxophone; Wolfert Brederode, piano; Ruben Samara, bass; Joost Lijbaart, drums.

Ted Nash: Plastic Sax Rumble from The Creep (Plastic Sax). Ted Nash, saxophone; Ron Horton, trumpet; Paul Sikivie, bass; Ulysses Owens, drums.