There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Sunday 24 February 2013

Jazz Today Playlist - Sun 24th Feb 2013

David Pastor & Pere Foved: El del Llasn from Camins Dispars (Omix)
Omit Five: Oclupaca from Omit Five (Caligola)
Klang: It Felt as if Time had Stopped from Brooklyn Lines...Chicago Spaces (Allos Documents)
The Aruan Ortiz & Michael Janisch Quintet: Precisely Now from Banned in London (Whirlwind)
Jenny Scheinman: A Ride with Polly Jean from Mischief & Mayhem (self-released)
Eric Schaefer: Lohengrin I from Who is Afraid of Richard W.? (ACT)
Dieter Ilg: Parsifal from Parsifal (ACT)
Eric Schaefer: Nietzsche in Disguise from Who is Afraid of Richard W.? (ACT)
Mark Lockheart: Not in My Name from In Deep (Edition)
Sam Anning Quintet: Re-turning Point from Re-turning Point (Listen / Hear Collective)
Kevin Figes Quartet: Tables and Chairs from Tables and Chairs (Pig)
Dreilander Trio: Izpoved from Dreilander Trio (Palomar)
Jacob Garchik / Jacob Sacks / David Ambrosio / Vinnie Sperrazza: Plainchant from 40Twenty (Yeah-Yeah)
FUSK: Alles Klar, Herr Kommandant from Super Kasper (WhyPlayJazz)
Mazz Swift / Tomeka Reid / Silvia Bolognesi: Ponce from Hear in Now (Rudi)
Raffaele Bossard’s Junction Box: Crossfire from Adumbration (WideEarRecords)

Tuesday 19 February 2013

El Intruso Critics Poll - 2012

It was nice to be invited to participate in the El Intruso Critics Poll for 2012. The full results can be found HERE!

Tuesday 12 February 2013

Jazz Today ONLINE - Winter 2013

To listen, click on the green button (left hand panel)
Yaron Herman: Mojo from Alter Ego (ACT). Emile Parisien, soprano saxophone; Yaron Herman, piano; Stephane Kerecki, bass; Ziv Ravitz, drums.

Daniel Humair: 7A3 from Sweet & Sour (Laborie). Emile Parisien, soprano saxophone; Vincent Peirani, accordion; Jerome Regard, bass; Daniel Humair, drums.

Marc Hannaford: Jack Hammerford from Sarcophile (Marchon). Marc Hannaford, piano; Sam Pankhurst, bass; James McLean, drums.

Paolo Botti Quartet: In Terra from Slight Imperfection (Caligola). Dimitri Grechi Espinoza, alto saxophone; Paolo Botti, viola; Tito Mangialajo Rantzer, bass; Filippo Monico, drums.

Lorenz Raab: Strudl Doag from Expanded (Unit). Eirik Hegdal, C melody saxophone; Lorenz Raab, trumpet; Michel Godard, tuba; Lucas Niggli, drums.

Ibrahim Maalouf: Doubts from Wind (Mi’ster). Mark Turner, tenor saxophone; Ibrahim Maalouf, trumpet; Frank Woeste, piano; Larry Grenadier, bass; Clarence Penn, drums.

Pixel: Call Me from Reminder (Cuneiform). Harald Lassen, soprano saxophone; Jonas Kilmork Vemoy, trumpet; Ellen Andrea Wang, bass and vocals; Jon Audun Baar, drums.

Raffaele Bossard’s Junction Box: Shapeshifter from Adumbration (WideEarRecords). Rafael Schilt and Tobias Meier, reeds; Raffaele Bossard, bass; Alex Huber, drums.

Ant Law: Kanda Jhati from Entanglement (33 Records). Michael Chillingworth, alto saxophone; Ant Law, guitar; Tom Farmer, bass; James Maddren, drums.

Sunday 10 February 2013

Jazz Today Playlist - Feb 10th 2013

Marty Ehrlich’s Rites Quartet: The Gravedigger’s Respite from Frog Leg Logic (Clean Feed)
Flat Earth Society: Meet Luke Devereaux from 13 (Igloo)
Jasper Van’t Hof: Nebula from Oeuvre (Q-rious)
Carlo Nardozza Quintet: Emmelia from Winterslag (CNm / Prova)
Liba Villavecchia: Spirits 3 from Saxophone Spirits (Agharta Music)
Libas Traum: Bianya from Libas Traum (Agharta Music)
Michel Reis: Street of Memories from Point of No Return (Armored)
The Cloudmakers Trio with Ralph Alessi: Morbid Curiosity from Live at the Pizza Express (Whirlwind)
Ben Goldberg: Satisfied Mind from Subatomic Particle Homesick Blues (BAG Productions)
Ben Goldberg: Who Died and Where I Moved To from Subatomic Particle Homesick Blues (BAG Productions)
Kenny Wheeler, Norma Winstone & the London Vocal Project: Black March from Mirrors (Edition)
Kenny Wheeler, Norma Winstone & the London Vocal Project: Through the Looking Glass from Mirrors (Edition)
No Reduce: The Mouse from Jaywalkin’ (NWOG)
Raffaele Bossard’s Junction Box: Shapeshifter from Adumbration (WideEarRecords)
Yaron Herman: Your Eyes from Alter Ego (ACT)
Ben Goldberg: Breathing Room from Unfold Ordinary Mind (BAG Productions)