There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Sunday 20 May 2012

Jazz Today Playlist: 20th May 2012

The Leaping Fish Trio: Finger Prints from Sankofa (El Gallo Rojo)
Peter Vandenberghe & Bart Maris: Petit Faucheaux from Glits (self-released)
Vincent Gagnon: Apres L’Une from Bleu Cendre (Effendi)
Ken Aldcroft & Dave Clark: Nutty from Hat & Beard (Trio)
Yuri Honing Acoustic Quartet: Paper Bag from True (Challenge)
Kaleidoscope String Quartet: Silly Dance from Magenta (Unit)
Dino & Franco Piana Septet: Open Dialogues Movimento 1 from Seven (AlfaMusic)
Dino & Franco Piana Septet: Open Dialogues Movimento 2 from Seven (AlfaMusic)
Troyka: Rest from Moxxy (Edition)
Hans Ludemann: Steine from Die Kunst des Trios 1-5 (BMC)
Hans Ludemann: Uhren from Die Kunst des Trios 1-5 (BMC)
The Leaping Fish Trio: Notte from Sankofa (El Gallo Rojo)
Lochs Balthaus Herskedal: Zany from Choices (Berthold)
Ratko Zjaka & Simone Zanchini: Pippo from The Way We Talk (In + Out)
Dialogues Trio with Julian Siegel: Waltz for Rossie from Twinkle Twinkle (Babel)
Robert Jukic: Mr. You-Can-Count-On-Me from Operation Charlie (dit’ e nat’)
1982: 2 from Pintura (Hubro)
Steve Lehman Trio: Jeannine from Dialect Fluorescent (Pi)
Mike Mainieri / Marnix Busstra Quartet: Three Years, Three Months, Three Weeks, Three Days from Trinary Motion (NYC / Buzz)

Sunday 6 May 2012

Jazz Today Playlist: 6th May 2012

.....featuring artists attending the 2012 Jazzahead! Festival.

Edmar Castaneda Trio: Entre Cuerdas from Entre Cuerdas (Arpa y Voz)
Omer Klein: Espana from Rockets on the Balcony (Tzadik)
Paul van Kemenade: Close Enough from Close Enough (KEMO)
Trondheim Jazz Orchestra & Maria Kannegaard Trio: Keep on Track from Live in Oslo (MNJ)
Too Noisy Fish: Amen Yourself / Ultratonic from Fast Easy Sick (RAT)
Solveig Slettahjell Slow Motion Quintet: Don’t Look Back from Good Rain (ACT)
Sebastien Gille: You Won’t Forget Me from Anthem (Pirouet)
Oran Etkin: Nina from Kelenia (Motema)
Francois Corneloup: La Nui est un Son from Noir Lumiere (Innacor)
Flat Earth Society: Rearm, Get that Char! from Cheer Me, Perverts (Crammed Discs)
Stevko Busch & Paul van Kemenade: Plotiju Usnuv (part one) from Contemplation (self-released)
Dennis Rollins’ Velocity Trio: Ujamma from The 11th Gate (Motema)
Just East: Mbira Mbump from House of Leaves (Just East of Jazz)
Kepera Trio & Yoram Lachish: Zuckerkandl from Levantasy (Kepera)
Emile Parisien Quartet: Chocolat-Citron from Chien Guepe (Laborie)
Alborada: Buleria por Solea from Jazzahead! 2012 (Jazzahead! compilation)