There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Tuesday, 27 November 2018

Jazz Today Online - Autumn 2018

Listen HERE or via the widget on the LH panel

Phillip Johnston & The Coolerators: Frankly from Diggin’ Bones (Asynchronous). Phillip Johnston, soprano saxophone; Alister Spence, organ; Lloyd Swanton, bass; Nic Cecire, drums.

Sondre Ferstad Ensemble: Danijelu from Minimal (AMP Music and Records). Sondre Ferstad, harmonica; Vegard Lien Bjerkan, piano; Morten Berger Stai, bass; Wilhelm Westerman, drums; Stefan Penjin and Oliver Leonard Bailey Dyb, violins; Bjorn Guo, viola; Astri Hoffmann-Tollaas, cello.

Unwind: Chickenfoot Tango from Orange (Rattle). Hayden Chisholm, alto saxophone; Paul Dyne, bass.

Little Balcony: Little Balcony from Little Balcony (AMPMusic and Records). Thea Emily Wang, vocals; Martin Sandvik Gjerde, piano; Henrik Sandstad, bass; Kenneth Enes Kristoffersen, drums.

Hanna Paulsberg’s Concept & Magnus Broo: Scent of Soil from Daughter of the Sun (Odin). Hanna Paulsberg, tenor saxophone; Magnus Broo, trumpet; Oscar Gronberg, piano; Trygve Fiske, bass; Hans Hulbaekmo, drums.

Sam Leak & Dan Tepfer: Adrift II from Adrift (Jellymould Jazz). Sam Leak & Dan Tepfer, pianos.

Sam Leak & Dan Tepfer: Adrift IV from Adrift (Jellymould Jazz). Sam Leak & Dan Tepfer, pianos.

Devin Gray: What We Learn from Cities from Dirigo Rataplan II (Rataplan). Ellery Eskelin, tenor saxophone; Dave Ballou, trumpet; Michael Formanek, bass; Devin Gray, drums.

Ikui Doki: Pemayangtse from Ikui Doki (Ayler). Sophie Bernado, bassoon; Hughes Mayot, reeds; Rafaelle Rinaudo, harp.

Sunna Gunnlaugs Trio & Verneri Pohjola: Ancestry from Ancestry (Sunny Sky). Sunna Gunnlaugs, piano; Verneri Pohjola, trumpet; Borgrimur Jonsson, bass; Scott McLemore, drums.

Matzeit / Jahnel / Sieverts: Hymnus an Mutter Natur from Both Sides (Jazzhausmusik). Friedemann Matzeit, soprano saxophone; Benedikt Jahnel, piano; Henning Sieverts, cello..

Matzeit / Jahnel / Sieverts: Eins, Zwei, Drei from Both Sides (Jazzhausmusik). Friedemann Matzeit, soprano saxophone; Benedikt Jahnel, piano; Henning Sieverts, bass.

Robert Landfermann: Lullaby from Brief (Pirouet). Christian Weidner, alto saxophone; Sebastian Gille, tenor saxophone; Elias Stemeseder, piano; Robert Landfermann, bass; Jim Black, drums.

Elliot Galvin: Halting Problem from Lobster Cracking (Edition). Elliot Galvin, keyboards; Tom McCredie, bass; Conor Chaplin, drums.

No comments:

Post a Comment