There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Thursday, 12 April 2012

Jazz Today Online Playlist: Spring 2012

IEP 4tet: Gascons Laveurs from Behin Bat Zen... (self-released). Sebastien ‘Iep’ Arruti, trombone; Alain Coyral, baritone saxophone; Timo Metzemakers, bass; Didier Ottaviani, drums.

Hybrid 10tet: Cuba, North Rhine Westphalia from On the Move (BBB). Michiel Braam, piano; Carl Ludwig Hubsch, tuba; Nils Wogram, trombone; Taylor Ho Bynum, cornet; Pieter Douma, bass guitar; Dirk-Peter Kolsch, drums; Maria-Paula Majoor and Daniel Torrico Menacho, violins; Karsten Kliejer, viola; Arno van der Vuurst, cello.

Friends & Neighbors: Sounds from Above from No Beat Policy (Ora Fonogram). Thomas Johansson, trumpet; Andre Roligheten, tenor saxophone; Oscar Gronberg, piano; Jon Rune Strom, bass; Tollef Ostvang, drums.

Duck Baker Trio: Opening the Eyes of Love from Amnesia in Trastevere (Les Cousins). Duck Baker, guitar; Alex Ward, clarinet; Joe Williamson, bass.

Tania Gill: Magpie from Bolger Station (Barnyard). Tania Gill, piano; Lina Allemano, trumpet; Clinton Ryder, bass; Jean Martin, drums.

Simone Guiducci: Lentament Mademoiselle from Django New Directions (TRJ). Simone Guiducci, guitar; Emanuele Parrini, violin; Achille Succi, clarinet; Mauro ‘Otto’ Ottolini, trombone; Danilo Gallo, bass; Zeno De Rossi, drums.

Joel Forrester / Phillip Johnston: Bunny Boy from Live at the Hillside Club (Asynchronous). Joel Forrester, piano; Phillip Johnston, soprano saxophone.

Maciej Fortuna Quartet: Lost Keys from Lost Keys (self-released). Maciej Fortuna, trumpet; Przemyslaw Raminiak, piano; Frank Parker, bass; Andrzei Swies, drums.

Suga Dairo: Pure Rain from No Shozo II (Pony Canyon). Tony Chanty, vocals; Suga Dairo, piano; Hikaru Toho, bass; ‘unknown’ drums.

TOPP Quartet: For Ornette from Kadmos (Gligg). Christof Thewes, trombone; Michel Pilz, bass clarinet; Jan Oestreich, bass; Peter Perfido, drums.

No comments:

Post a Comment