There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a weekly radio show on Cambridge105 Radio. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM, on DAB digital and at

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Friday, 24 September 2021

Jazz Today - Sun 26th Sep at 4pm BST on Cambridge 105 Radio

....featuring the Umlaut Big Band with their homage to Mary Lou Williams, the sextet Bounce Alarm with some 'banging tunes' and a Russian quartet adding music to the words of TS Eliot.  We’ll also be hearing from saxophonist Jon Gordon, drummer Nick Fraser, pianist Artturi Ronka and a band coming to Cambridge next month, the Ant Law Quintet. Listen HERE at 4pm BST.

Sunday, 19 September 2021

Playlist - Sep 19th 2021

NoSax NoClar: Promotion 23 from Red Sisters (Yolk)

Julian Hesse: Mantra from Troubleshooter (HGBSBlue)

Eve Beuvens: Jolene from Inner Geography (Igloo)

Michal Bak Quartetto: The Strength from Fortress (Alpaka)

Huw V Williams: 15+16-01-18 from Equidistant Between (self-released)

NoSax NoClar: Bleuet from Red Sisters (Yolk)

Julian Hesse: The Point from Troubleshooter (HGBSBlue)

Chuck Owen and The Jazz Surge: Sparks Fly from Within Us (Summit / Mama)

Sunday, 12 September 2021

Playlist - Sep 12th 2021

Ferg Ireland Trio: Ludwick Blues from Ferg Ireland Trio (Mondegreen)

Florian Arbenz: Homenaje from Conversations #2 and #3 (self-released)

Tim Boniface: The Second Word from The Eight Words (self-released)

Tim Boniface: The Fifth Word from The Eight Words (self-released)

Tony Kofi: Work Song from Another Kind of Soul (The Last Music Co.)

Florian Arbenz: Wooden Lines from Conversations #2 and #3 (self-released)

Sunday, 5 September 2021

Playlist - Sep 5th 2021

Thomas Torstrup Quartet: Transcribed Rainbows from Two Brothers (NXN Recordings)

Let Spin: Morecambe from Steal the Light (EFPI)

Dinosaur: Absinthe from To The Earth (Edition)

Fergus McCreadie: North from Cairn (Edition)

Acoustic Triangle: Bourdion from Resonance (audio-b)

Thomas Torstrup Quartet: Learn to Play a Drum from Two Brothers (NXN Recordings)

Sunday, 29 August 2021

Playlist - Aug 29th 2021

Sloth in the City: Remembered Music from Remember Music (self-released)

Kathrine Windfeld Big Band: Undertow from Orca (Stunt)

Francesco Del Prete: Lo Gnomo from Cor Cordis (Dodicilune)

Flukten: Jonas Og Hvalen from Velkommen Hap (Odin)

Barry Altschul’s 3Dom Factor: Long Tall Sunshine from Long Tall Sunshine (Not Two)

Keyna Wilkins: So What Little Prelude in D Minor from So What Bach (self-released)

Adrian Moncada 6tet: NGC6357 from Inhabitable Imagination (self-released)

Francesco Del Prete: Il Teschio e la Farfalla from Cor Cordis (Dodicilune)


Intro / Outro – Stephane Huchard: Jakawa Jungle Spoon from Toutakoustiks (Blue Note Fr)

Sunday, 22 August 2021

Playlist - Aug 22nd / 25th 2021

Nathalie Loriers: Rafales from Le Temps Retrouve (Igloo)

Simone Graziano: When the Party’s Over from Embracing the Future (Auand)

David Leon: Horrible, Horrible Service from Aire De Agua (Out of Your Head)

Let Spin: The Aftermath from Steal the Light (EFPI)

Kevin Sun: Dovetail from <3 Bird (Endectomorph)

Yaniv Taubenhouse: Blue Forest from Moments in Trio Vol 3 - Road (Fresh Sound New Talent)

Simone Graziano: Tancredi from Embracing the Future (Auand)

David Leon: First You Must Learn the Grip from Aire De Agua (Out Of Your Head)

Sunday, 15 August 2021

Playlist - Aug 15th / 18th 2021

Flukten: Budeie Boogie from Velkommen Hap (Odin)

Trio Sin Tiempo: Bety from Ritmos de Agua (577)

Jean-Marc Foltz: Hippopotorganum Magnum from Wild Beasts (Vision Fugitive)

Daniele Martini Quartet: Impermanent from Impermanent (El Negocito)

Dominique Pifarely: Grille de Parole from Suite: Anabasis (Jazzdor Series)

Dinosaur: Slow Loris from To the Earth (Edition)

Jean-Marc Foltz: Croc from Wild Beasts (Vision Fugitive)

Timo Lassy: Better Together from Trio (WeJazz)